2433 Views 3 Replies Latest reply: Jul 31, 2010 4:01 AM by Gouse Mohammed
When restoring an iPhone with iTunes, there are two options. From the iPhone's backup which is the default selection after the iPhone is completely erased and the firmware is reinstalled, or as a new iPhone or not from the iPhone's backup which must be manually selected.
This link provides the data included with the iPhone's backup, which is updated by iTunes as the first step during the iTunes sync process.
After restoring with iTunes from the iPhone's backup or as a new iPhone or not from the backup, this must be followed by a sync to re-transfer your selections under the various tabs for your iPhone sync preferences with iTunes.
Thanks Allan. I tried according to your suggestions, but was stuck in the beginning itself.
When I selected to restore as a new iPhone, iTunes was automatically updating my phone to iOS 4.0.1, which I don't want to. Is there any other way to restore to my factory settings which had OS 3.0.1?
Or if I restore to iOS 4.0.1 then can I go back to 3.0.1, when I sync to the backup I had with 3.0.1?