Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Workflow for opening, creating a new Word document in current Finder folder

Hello, I am new to automator. I am trying to create a small app which can be activated from a finder toolbar. Once activated it will create a new word document in the current folder and save it as say, Untitled. Maybe even open it...

The problem I am facing is how to capture the current path name (full path name) of the current folder which can then be fed as input to the Save Word Document action.

My sequence is:

1 Get Selected Finder items (but not sure how I can pass the value of the current folder path name to next step)

2 Set Value of Variable

3 Create New Word Document

4 Save Word Document. Here is where I am stuck (I suppose) where I need to specify a variable under Where field that contains the pathname.

here is my screenshot.

iMac 27″, macOS 11.1

Posted on Dec 30, 2020 9:43 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Dec 30, 2020 1:03 PM

As Barney noted there's nothing in Automator directly that will do what you want, but all is not lost.

What you want can be done via AppleScript - and you can invoke it via the Run AppleScript action if you want to keep it within Automator.

tell application "Finder"
	-- find the current open folder
	set currentPath to POSIX path of ((get insertion location) as alias)
	-- work out the new file name
	set newFilename to (currentPath & "new.doc")
	-- hack using 'touch' to create the file
	do shell script "touch " & quoted form of newFilename
	-- and open it
	open POSIX file newFilename as alias
end tell

This works on a couple of principles. First is that the Finder tracks the current logical 'insertion location' for you, which typically points to the folder for the frontmost window. I use that with an appended 'new.doc' filename.