Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

How to Downgrade to macOS Catalina

So a few months ago I upgraded my Mac to macOS Big Sur and these few months I have noticed that my Mac is running really slow, and the battery is draining really fast everyday, this is a pretty new MacBook so I don't think it have problems with the CPU or anything, so can anybody PLEASE teach me how to downgrade to macOS Catalina, I am a student so I use my Laptop a lot. Thanks! (BTW my Mac is currently running macOS Big Sur 11.0)

Posted on Jan 5, 2021 1:25 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jan 5, 2021 2:10 PM

Downgrading is not simple. Some of your data will have been updated to work on Big Sur (such as your photos library). So downgrade, and those items won't work.

If you're happy just to set up your Mac by erasing the drive then installing macOS Catalina, then that is possible. But you will be starting from scratch (no photos, no non-Apple applications etc.).

The other possible option (and this I've never tried so can't confirm it will work) is to do the above suggestion and then run migration assistant to copy over your user data and applications but not the operating system.

2 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Jan 5, 2021 2:10 PM in response to axida

Downgrading is not simple. Some of your data will have been updated to work on Big Sur (such as your photos library). So downgrade, and those items won't work.

If you're happy just to set up your Mac by erasing the drive then installing macOS Catalina, then that is possible. But you will be starting from scratch (no photos, no non-Apple applications etc.).

The other possible option (and this I've never tried so can't confirm it will work) is to do the above suggestion and then run migration assistant to copy over your user data and applications but not the operating system.

Jan 5, 2021 4:23 PM in response to axida