Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Can I use Apple Wallet on my new MacBook Air (with touch ID) WITHOUT touching my iPhone??!

Can I use Apple Wallet on my new MacBook Air (with touch ID) WITHOUT touching my iPhone??!

MacBook Air

Posted on Feb 20, 2021 5:03 PM

6 replies

Feb 23, 2021 11:32 AM in response to PRP_53

I see. And there is nothing wrong with having to use 2 devices in order to make a Wallet purchase from one's laptop. I just wish Apple had made that clear to me. It seems I've wasted about 2 hours trying to do the impossible. It seems strange to me, since both devices use my fingerprint, that I can't use one of these devices by itself to make a Wallet purchase, while I can use the other! 

And what bothers me the most is Apple's consistently poor menu descriptions and instructions. It's almost bizarre to me, because I have a masters degree in English, so I'm definitely some kind of "expert" at understanding English, plus I'm really good at using an understanding software. At the 900-employee manufacturing company I retired from five years ago as a tech writer, I was the go-to guy for the whole company for help with understanding software features and being able to easily show others how to use their software more effectively and efficiently. I've designed webpages for 25 years. And yet Apple instructions flummox me frequently, especially when it comes to the Cloud.

One of the big draws of Apple was it's simplicity, which is why I dumped Windows 20 years ago, even though at work I was also a Windows IT guy. But Apple has gotten increasingly difficult even for the most intelligent people to use.