Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

iCloud photos-Optimized vs. Originals-How can I tell?

I am new to iCloud photos for my Mac. When I first signed up for iCloud Photos, I was only given the choice to Optimize photos if I ran out of disk space. Right now, I appear to have enough disk space, so I assume that my Mac is still retaining full file size originals for the moment.

My question is this:

If iCloud Photos does start optimizing some photos to save disk space on my Mac, how can I tell? If I'm surfing through my Mac Photos library, is there some indicator that tells me which photos are optimized and which ones are still originals? Knowing if some photos are optimized or not has implications on how I restore my Mac Photos library in case something happens to my Mac's hard drive (Time Machine vs. restore from iCloud).

Thanks,

Olyduck

2018 MPB, i5, 8g mem

Posted on Mar 6, 2021 11:04 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Mar 6, 2021 12:38 PM

The optimisation is completely automatic. You will only notice, which photos have been optimised, when you have to wait before you can work with the,, because they need downloading from iCloud. If you are always connected to a fast Wi-Fi, you should not notice any difference.

Your Time Machine backup will be incomplete, if you enable "Optimise Storage". I do not use the optimize storage option, because I want to have complete Time machine backups. I use iCloud Photos only to keep my devices in sync.