Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Apple script in Automator - to remove same name files with different extensions

Hi there,

I do have a folder with more than 6000 files which are somehow listed like this:

file1.jpg

file1.pdf

file2.jpg

file3.jpg

file4.jpg

file4.pdf

I would like to run a script to identify and delete JPG files that DO HAVE an associated PDF file. In the exemple above, it would only delete file1.jpg and file4.jpg because file1.pdf and file4.pdf exist.

I have tried to accommodate scripts I found out there to make this work as I am no expert. At this point, I am trying to run a Apple script in Automator that looks like that:

set ff to choose folder

tell application "System Events"

set everyJpg to files of ff whose name extension = "jpg"

repeat with thisJpg in my everyJpg

set thisPdf to my getBaseName(thisJpg) & ".pdf"

if (exists file thisPdf of ff) then

delete thisJpg

end if

end repeat

end tell

However, I get an error message like :

"The action "Run AppleScript" encountered an error: Can't make file "Mackintosh HD: Users: Zalmati:MyFolder:file2.jpg" of application "System Events" into the expected type"

From what I can tell, the script looks plain and simple but I don't know how to troubleshoot this.

Is there something easy I am missing?

Thanks,

Posted on Apr 17, 2021 3:11 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Apr 19, 2021 4:13 AM

The following AppleScript will remove only those JPG with a name matching PDF counterpart. I have tested this with your simple filenames, and examples with your complicated naming examples, and it works identically in Script Editor and as an Automator application using a Run AppleScript action.

Ideally, I would have liked to write this entirely in AppleScript/Objective-C, as the Finder gets lethargic in large file repository processing. The ASOC code would have done the job without Finder to slow it down.