📢 Newsroom Update

The iPhone 16 and iPhone 16 Pro lineups, Apple Watch Series 10, the new black titanium Apple Watch Ultra 2, AirPods 4, and new colors for AirPods Max are now available! Learn more >

You can make a difference in the Apple Support Community!

When you sign up with your Apple ID, you can provide valuable feedback to other community members by upvoting helpful replies and User Tips.

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Internal SSD (AP0512M)...slow write speeds?

Hello,

I recently purchased a second hand 2018 15" MacBook Pro from a certified Apple reseller (specs in screenshot). I'm a digital tech in the photo industry and hard drive write speeds are quite important when shooting tethered to the computer.

I recently picked up a G-Tech Mobile Pro external SSD and ran a Blackmagic speed test on it as well as my internal SSD and have questions. Are advertised speeds never attainable in real world computing?

It seems the internal Apple SSD (AP0512M) has advertised read & write speeds of 3200MB/s & 2200MB/s, respectively.

The Blackmagic tests (5GB) returned speeds of 2626MB/s & 1835MB/s.

For the G-Tech external, advertised "transfer speeds" are 2800MB/s and the Blackmagic tests returned 2487MB/s & 2282MB/s (read & write).

Nothing else was running when the tests were performed and high performance graphics (dual graphics card) were enabled. A friend has a 2019 16" MBP with a similar configuration and tested at 2722MB/s & 2632MB/s (read/write).

I'm most concerned with the internal SSD's performance. What steps are there to troubleshoot bad cells / SSD health / etc. Or, is this normal performance?

Thanks.

Posted on Apr 24, 2021 11:10 PM

Question marked as Top-ranking reply

Posted on Apr 25, 2021 6:49 PM