Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

How can i add up my income...?

I am just starting out with numbers and i need a sheet adding up my time done at work and how many £ i have made! i have columns for date, time started, time finished, total hrs, running total and the last for time done times rate of income (£12). as i have it at the moment this is fine for full hours but if i have a half hour it sees .30 (minutes) as .3 of 10 not minutes. (hope this makes sense) so 7 & 1/2 should be £90 but it becomes £87.60.

Thanks for reading and hope it makes sense.

iMac 27″, macOS 11.3

Posted on May 5, 2021 11:49 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on May 7, 2021 12:07 PM

Try retyping each one with a colon instead of a dot.

Where are you that has 19.08 as a format for time? I was trying to set up a document with a localization that uses that format but I didn't find one.

9 replies

May 6, 2021 7:06 AM in response to travelbugs

Here is an example of a typical way you might approach this in Numbers.

Enter the time in and time out with the cells formatted as Date & Time:

Then you can use a simple subtraction to calculate a Duration, a special data format in Numbers that measures elapsed time, as opposed to a point in time. Using the Duration format allows Numbers to take care of complicated date math "under the hood":

The formula in D2 of the example is simply =C2−B2.

Then, to calculate earnings you can use the DUR2HOURS function to convert the Duration to a decimal number that you can then multiply by the hourly rate.

The formula in E2 of the example:

=DUR2HOURS(D2)*Table 2::$A$2

SG

May 6, 2021 1:19 PM in response to SGIII