Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Finder major design issue?

I'm a very senior IT professional and LOVE MacOS. However, what am I missing with Finder which is failing to provide a very basic need:

• I need Finder to act as explorer... I have it opened on one desktop. I don't want it opened on another desktop (same system). If I click on OPTIONS ALL DESKTOPS then it (explorer view) shows on all desktops which is annoying as **** - I want it on one Desktop and not all others.
  • Here's the funky part: If I choose NONE or a specific Display then the icons on my main display disappear !!!
  • So this fails a very basic need: have my main icons on my laptop which should show up on every display on the laptop screen show up. But "explorer" view/window of finder be open on just one display. Come on this is a very basic need and can Finder not fulfill it?

Thanks for any tips.

I have to start looking for alternatives to Finder - but I don't want to mess with the system at that level...

Thanks.

Posted on May 31, 2021 2:27 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on May 31, 2021 4:22 AM

You don't need to make any low level changes if you want to use a Finder alternative.

There are plenty around. However, if I understand correctly what you are saying, I don't think it is an issue with the Finder, but with how macOS handles Spaces.

I am not sure if it will do what you want, but have a look at Path Finder. It is a paid application, but works in trial mode for 30 days.

Similar questions

13 replies
Question marked as Best reply

May 31, 2021 4:22 AM in response to itdkah

You don't need to make any low level changes if you want to use a Finder alternative.

There are plenty around. However, if I understand correctly what you are saying, I don't think it is an issue with the Finder, but with how macOS handles Spaces.