Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

iMovie/videos on iCloud

My 11 year old iMac has been smashed on the floor and I am seeking to retrieve videos created in iMovie. No, I'm not running Time Machine. Some of them kan be retrieved on my iPhone, but they don't appear on my MacBook Air. I assume my videos are in iCloud, and I have a subscription which covers 50 Gb.

Posted on Jul 3, 2021 7:25 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jul 3, 2021 8:23 AM

Possibly if the videos were deleted when your iMac was damaged they may have been deleted from the cloud as well. Not entirely sure about that.

From your MacBook Air, go to Finder/Go/iCloud drive and see if your videos are in any of the iCloud folders.

If no luck, then from your MacBook Air sign in to iCloud.com in the internet with your Apple I.D. and password. Then click on the iCloud drive folder. Look in the subfolder that you then see, Documents, Downloads, iMovie, etc. and see if your videos are in there. If the videos are there, you can save them to your desktop.

-- Rich

4 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Jul 3, 2021 8:23 AM in response to amgreven

Possibly if the videos were deleted when your iMac was damaged they may have been deleted from the cloud as well. Not entirely sure about that.

From your MacBook Air, go to Finder/Go/iCloud drive and see if your videos are in any of the iCloud folders.

If no luck, then from your MacBook Air sign in to iCloud.com in the internet with your Apple I.D. and password. Then click on the iCloud drive folder. Look in the subfolder that you then see, Documents, Downloads, iMovie, etc. and see if your videos are in there. If the videos are there, you can save them to your desktop.

-- Rich

Jul 6, 2021 2:55 AM in response to Rich839