Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Calls on I watch

I’m new to the I watch, I’ve followed all the set up instructions and can’t seem to receive any incoming calls, please help.

Apple Watch, watchOS 4

Posted on Jul 8, 2021 8:22 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jul 8, 2021 12:22 PM

Stevenmary1234 wrote:

Series 2

Watch Series 2 is GPS and Wi-Fi only with no cellular capabilities, which means this Watch can only make and receive calls while within range of the paired iPhone.

Which watchOS version is this Series 2 running? The footer shown here in the forums indicates watchOS 4, which is old. The current version supported with Series 2 is watchOS 6.2.8. (This Series 2 is old and its hardware limited and it won't update past watchOS 6, while watchOS 7 is current.)

Click or tap on the following blue-text link for how to update Watch > Update your Apple Watch - Apple Support

4 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Jul 8, 2021 12:22 PM in response to Stevenmary1234

Stevenmary1234 wrote:

Series 2

Watch Series 2 is GPS and Wi-Fi only with no cellular capabilities, which means this Watch can only make and receive calls while within range of the paired iPhone.

Which watchOS version is this Series 2 running? The footer shown here in the forums indicates watchOS 4, which is old. The current version supported with Series 2 is watchOS 6.2.8. (This Series 2 is old and its hardware limited and it won't update past watchOS 6, while watchOS 7 is current.)

Click or tap on the following blue-text link for how to update Watch > Update your Apple Watch - Apple Support

Jul 8, 2021 8:45 AM in response to Stevenmary1234

Is your Watch (Series 4, per the footer?) a cellular model, or Wi-Fi? Either can receive calls, though the latter only within range of the paired iPhone.

If a cellular model, do the Watch settings show an active cellular carrier and plan?