Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Printers not showing on Print Preferences

As requested elsewhere I'm starting a new thread.

Allen

Aug 12, 2021 at 3:44:25 PM

I’ve been using Macs since 1985, and spent my pre-retirement years working as a programmer, instructor, and system managers. I almost never need to ask for help to solve problems, but this one has me baffled.

I’ve been using two printers, one in my LR, one in my office. They’ve both been working fine on my current WiFi network for well over a year. A few days ago, my Brother laser printer (in my office) could not be found to print on it. (Maybe related to latest MacOS update, 11.5.1?). 

I ran the gamut of tech support solutions from Apple and Brother. Restarted my router. Re-ran wireless setup on the printer (it successfully connects to my network). Tried installing latest driver from Brother. All to no avail. As a last resort, I tried resetting the printer setup in System Preferences. This wipes info for all printers from the Mac. Instructions then say, “Use the + button to add back your printer(s).” 

Well, no printers show up to be added. I’ve now lost the 2nd printer as well, an Epson AirPrint color printer in our LR. 

Tried printing from my iPad; the Brother and the Epson both work just fine! They have no problems.

Clearly, something is fubar on my Mac.

Anyone have any ideas?

[Personal Information Edited by Moderator]

Posted on Aug 20, 2021 4:53 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Aug 21, 2021 5:52 AM

Hi,

Both printers (Brother HL-L2395DW and Epson ET-2760) are listed in About AirPrint - Apple Support. Thus, additional drivers from the printer manufacturers should not be needed when the printers and the computer are connected to the same network (Wi-Fi router).

You have already tried most of the things one would suggest in a similar case.