Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

How to use apple pencil in Word? Using ipro

How to use apple pencil to edit Word documents Using iPad pro

iPad, iPadOS 14

Posted on Aug 22, 2021 11:59 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Oct 19, 2021 5:00 AM

Thank you for your confirmation. I spent all weekend trying different things to make writing with the pencil work to no avail. As an author I was trying to find a different way to write and edit for times where using my laptop wasn't practical, like during travel or meetings, but yeah it was just a headache.

Bottom line is, the pencil does not work in word to write with. You can draw but not do any text conversion with it. And the responsiveness in pages is horrible. It's as bad as voice to text conversion. You spend more time editing what you wrote then writing.

9 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Oct 19, 2021 5:00 AM in response to Acrononymous

Thank you for your confirmation. I spent all weekend trying different things to make writing with the pencil work to no avail. As an author I was trying to find a different way to write and edit for times where using my laptop wasn't practical, like during travel or meetings, but yeah it was just a headache.

Bottom line is, the pencil does not work in word to write with. You can draw but not do any text conversion with it. And the responsiveness in pages is horrible. It's as bad as voice to text conversion. You spend more time editing what you wrote then writing.

Oct 19, 2021 5:29 AM in response to SJLXYZ

As many have found out ( just discovered this thread) you cannot use the Penci to ANY actual writing or handwriting to text in the Word app.

You CAN ONLY use the draw portion of word to draw or hand write notes, but these notes will NOT be converted to text.

Wish I found this thread much earlier to clarify.