Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Security Certificates / Unsafe Sites but they are..

Hi - I am not very technical so please bear with me. I

have an Imac - I don't use Safari as the browser these days as my work requires me to use Google Drive as it's all live etc etc.

Just lately when using google browser i've been having trouble getting onto websites - like the local car garage or B&Q for example.

I get the following message

' YOUR CONNECTION IS NOT PRIVATE

Attackers might be trying to steal your information from ******.com(for example passwords, messages or credit cards

Learn more - NET::ERR_CERT_DATE-INVALID

To get Chrome's highest level of security, turn on enhanced protection

Hide Advanced or Back to safety

This server could not prove that it is ******.com, it's security certificate is not valid at the time. This may be caused by a misconfiguration intercepting your connection.

Proceed to *****.com (unsafe)

Any ideas?

I popped into a local Apple retailer today and he just said ' it's because your mac is OLD ".......

[Link Edited by Moderator]

iMac 21.5″, OS X 10.11

Posted on Nov 10, 2021 8:12 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Nov 10, 2021 9:19 AM

Thanks you.

Our 21.5-inch Mid 2011 iMac runs os10.13 High Sierra as well has it has any OS before it with no compatibility issues.

The link to 10.13 High Sierra is in this Apple article:

How to get old versions of macOS - Apple Support

Be sure to use Safari for any downloads (Firefox tend to error on system download, AND back up you current installation.

If you see an error message about a damaged files, it only means the new installer had found an older outdated version of itself in your Applications folder. Trash the older verion and all should go well.

Similar questions

5 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Nov 10, 2021 9:19 AM in response to artcasper

Thanks you.