Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

I want to upgrade my old iMac 12.1 running Snow Leopard

I want to upgrade my old iMac 12.1 running Snow Leopard to High Sierra and found this link in Apple Support: https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT211683

According to this information I first made a back-up and uploaded Yosemite and installed it. there was a quick message that after uploading it couldn't find Safari and two other files. (unfortunately I lost that info). Finally nothing happened and the mac has an installed file of Yosemite, but is still running Snow Leopard.

I am not an expert in these things. (My knowledge goes as far as using a Mac).

Can someone help.

Thanks

[Re-Titled by Moderator]

Posted on Dec 19, 2021 2:23 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Dec 19, 2021 5:10 PM

Ydax123,

First, backup before any upgrades.

Then, download OS X El Capitan: How to get old versions of macOS - Apple Support. Open the downloaded DMG and install the App. Then, open the "Install OS X El Capitan" App and upgrade.

Then, get macOS High Sierra: How to get old versions of macOS - Apple Support and open the "Install macOS High Sierra" App and upgrade.

Jack

Similar questions

6 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Dec 19, 2021 5:10 PM in response to Ydax123

Ydax123,

First, backup before any upgrades.

Then, download OS X El Capitan: How to get old versions of macOS - Apple Support. Open the downloaded DMG and install the App. Then, open the "Install OS X El Capitan" App and upgrade.

Then, get macOS High Sierra: How to get old versions of macOS - Apple Support and open the "Install macOS High Sierra" App and upgrade.

Jack

Dec 19, 2021 4:53 PM in response to Johnb-one