Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

I'm new to wifi. Do I need a wifi router or can I use my mac mini to provide the wifi? thanks

I'm new to wifi. Do I need a wifi router or can I use my mac mini to provide wifi capabilities? thanks

Mac mini, macOS 12.1

Posted on Jan 18, 2022 1:44 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jan 18, 2022 1:53 PM

While a Mac mini can provide a Wi-Fi network. its range and power will be lower than a dedicated Wi-Fi router / access point

To share your internet connection to other devices over wi-Fi your Mac mini will need to be connected to your Modem via an ethernet cable.

See here: link-> Share the internet connection on Mac with other network users - Apple Support

6 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Jan 18, 2022 1:53 PM in response to Captain Curt

While a Mac mini can provide a Wi-Fi network. its range and power will be lower than a dedicated Wi-Fi router / access point

To share your internet connection to other devices over wi-Fi your Mac mini will need to be connected to your Modem via an ethernet cable.

See here: link-> Share the internet connection on Mac with other network users - Apple Support

Jan 19, 2022 8:56 AM in response to Captain Curt

That's an entirely different proposition all together.

To connect it to your Phone, you need to turn on Personal Hotspot in the iPhone in Settings->Personal HotSpot. See here: link-> How to set up a Personal Hotspot on your iPhone or iPad - Apple Support

Once that is done, from your Mac, you can look for your iPhone's name in the list of Wi-Fi networks in the menu bar. It may appear in the "Personal Hotspot" section. When you find it, you can click on it, and then provide the password you set in the previous step.

Jan 18, 2022 2:02 PM in response to Captain Curt