Newsroom Update

Final Cut Pro transforms video creation with Live Multicam on iPad and new AI features on Mac. Learn more >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

multiple project/timelines problem

I am totally new to FCPX. I have started a library and imported all my raw footage. I have created a project, and inserted the clips into the timeline of that project. That's all I've done.

Now, I want to have several different versions of the edit of this footage. One very long, another shorter, etc. So I understand I need to create a new project, or duplicate the current project. However- When I duplicate the current project, any changes I make to the duplicate are made to the original. Alternatively, if I create a new project, to start a second timeline from scratch, all the clips seem to disappear from the original project. If I delete the second project, all the clips reappear in the first project.

I am not using any compound or multicam clips. Even if I "snapshot" the project, then make changes to the snapshot, the changes happen to the original project timeline as well. Clearly I am missing something here. Thanks for any help you can offer. Darcy

MacBook Pro

Posted on Feb 1, 2022 9:35 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Feb 1, 2022 9:55 PM

Are you doing the below action to create a NEW Project:

Command-N is another method.

Give the Project a meaningful name.

It may be worth resetting the FCPro Preferences.

Hold Option-Command as you launch FCPro then reopen a Library.

Al

Similar questions

3 replies

Feb 2, 2022 1:39 AM in response to Darcy Phillips1

I think we have all been caught out with the ID10T error thing. 😀

Here is a Timeline tip for when you have more than one Timeline or Clip/s that have been opened into the Timeline.

Each session of editing remembers whatever was opened in the Timeline and a list is populated as you go.