Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Entire folder disappeared

Hi all,

for the first time in my life, I saw an entire folder disappear from my external HD. No other folder was affected but this one (on which I was working). I had a couple of word documents open from it and, just like someone else in a thread from February 6th) I was asked to save them in another folder.

when I went back to relocate it into its original folder, the folder was gone. It had dozens of subfolders and hundreds of files in .doc, .pdf, .jpeg etc.

I tried Stellar Data Recovery but found nothing (I am now performing the deep scan).

I read that others had this issue. Is there a virus around we don't know about yet?

Any help is enormously appreciated, as I have been working on those files for 2 years and now all seems lost... :(

I hadn't done the last update (which I did after the loss of the folder)

P.S. I had to choose the topic High Sierra because I couldn't find Monterey, my OS.

iMac 27″, macOS 11.2

Posted on Feb 12, 2022 4:06 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Feb 13, 2022 9:33 AM

nefelissima72 wrote:

1. Oh, I have 2 short questions:
if the issue is with my mac, why did it erase only that one folder on my external HD?
2. Can I reinstall documents and programs from a time machine?

1 - from above - that may have been a result of CleanMyMac Application.

2 - from above - Issues that may exist on the older computer ( existing computer setup ) will be migrated to the New Computer ( Clean Installation of High Sierra ) . This would badly pollute the new Original and Pristine installation of the new OS.

3 - One can Move Personal Files backup once the Clean Installation is performed and  Time Machine Backup has been established.

4 - IMHO - it would be best to only install new application etc Directly from the Developer or the Apple Apps Store.