Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Keynote crashes

I've recently upgraded my MacBook Air to macOS Monterey and I've started having problems with Keynote. It often (not always) crashes immediately after trying to open a presentation file or just when launching the app. I seem to have installed the last version of the app (11.2) and the OS is also fully updated (12.3.1) and it doesn't seem to be a problem with a specific file, since Keynote crashes upon trying to open any of the presentations I've build with the app in the las couple of years.

Has anyone found similar problems? Is there any solution? This is really becoming a serious issue, because I am a teacher and I have a number of presentations that I have not been able to complete.

Any recommendation will be of great help. Thanks!

MacBook Air 13″, macOS 12.3

Posted on Apr 3, 2022 3:55 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Apr 3, 2022 4:31 AM

Try this procedure which is known to sort this type of issue.

complete all of the following steps in the order listed:

• ensure you have a current backup of all your user files, saved to a separate drive

• close all applications

• uninstall Keynote; for this procedure to work, an application removal tool must be used, App Delete has a free trial and works for this procedure. It can be downloaded from the developer’s website here:  App Delete

• empty the Trash (Finder > Empty Trash)

• restart the Mac (Apple Menu > Restart);  Immediately after the Apple startup sound, press the shift key on the keyboard, release shift when the Apple icon appears. Start up will take longer than usual as the Mac is performing a software repair of the start up drive

• After the Mac is fully powered up, restart the Mac normally:   Apple Menu > Restart

• reinstall Keynote from the Mac App Store

• Restart the Mac again and test Keynote