Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

i-phone 4 3 Axis Gyro

Hi,
a question for the tech experts out there!!

I have an App installed called "gyroscope" that is supposed to utilize the phones new 3 Axis Gyro sensor system.
I tried it out whilst flying myself in an Aircraft yesterday ( yes I'm a Pilot and I'm aware of how a Gyro works ) and when the Aircraft banks left or right the i-phone Gyro shows no bank at all. If the phone had a real gyro installed then it should have shown the aircraft bank.So it seems the Gyro is rubbish or just a gimmick.

You need to actually move the phone itself to show any change on the phones gyro.

Whats the deal?

Thanks

i-phone 4, iOS 4

Posted on Aug 9, 2010 9:32 PM

16 replies

Aug 17, 2010 1:53 AM in response to tonefox

And a bad shot in the Dark!!

All Aircraft, Missiles, Submarines etc have Gyro systems fitted. The new types are Laser Gyros and have been for 20 years now. A Gyro has "Rigity in Space" meaning once aligned it remains stable irrespective of what the host platform does and therefore can be used to sense changes in Attitude and Position.

Now, in a real Aircraft whenever you Roll Pitch or Yaw the Gyro senses this and displays to the Pilot this on his Attitude display ( amongst others system displays)

The i-phone Gyro doesn't due to it's current software programming is therefore not a "real" Gyro.

I know one App programmer that is currently testing the Gyro after modifying the software code to more correctly utilise the Gyro. Hopefully he will be successful.

Aug 17, 2010 5:30 PM in response to nitpicker330

I don't know physics (will be taking it later this year), but is it at all possible for the smaller motions made by a person to be picked up by the gyro, yet the enlarged scale of the airplane, yet keeping the same tiny gyro, possibly interfering with it working the way you'd think?