Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Copying Time Capsule Data to External Hard Drive

I'm a novice user. I have an ancient Time Capsule (2009) that I recently used to upload my data to a new iMac. I wasn't able to upload all of my data to the new machine. I used Archive to copy the TC data to a new external hard drive and it seemed to work. I plan to set up the new external hard drive as the back up drive to use with Time Machine. Can I expect that the new external hard drive back up files will upload to restore data on the iMac if I need? Is there information I should know about doing this? I don't know enough to know what questions to ask. I'd like to be sure that my data is "safe" before I disconnect the TC and set up the new external hard drive.

On a related note - does Time Machine back up everything each time as a separate file (i.e., so you end up with multiple copies of files)? If I want to be as efficient with storage space as possible, is TM the best option? I've envisioned that TM only backups up new or altered files each time. Is that correct?

Thank you in advance for answering - I appreciate any help and insight you can give.

iMac 27″, OS X 10.10

Posted on Jun 12, 2022 6:55 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jun 12, 2022 8:14 AM

Is there any way to get TM to just use the archived data as the back up rather than creating a new data backup folder?

Apple used to offer this an option, but it was problematic. I don't think the option exists now. Even if it did, I would not use it.

Alternatively, is there a way of going into the archived file and deleting the duplicated files?