Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Best Resolution for Videos

Hi 👋 everyone.

So, I'm an aspiring video artist and I'm still figuring out resolutions. Right now, I'm not happy with the quality at all.

I use Quicktime on Apple. My screen resolution is around 2500 x 1600. but when I export the Quicktime video, the 4k and 1080 options are greyed out. So I have been uploading Youtube videos with 59 fps and 12,000 kb, when the original video was only exported from Quicktime at 720.

My main question is how do I export at 1920 x 1080 from Quicktime? Or is there something else I should know re using a different application? not looking for the absolute best quality, but definitely more resolution/colour.

Thanks! 🙏

MacBook Pro 13″, macOS 12.1

Posted on Jun 13, 2022 9:30 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jun 13, 2022 10:29 AM

oneshot2shots wrote:

Thanks Phil.

I understand that I cannot get more pixels from a lower source, as that would be magical. 

My main question is why QT cannot record at a higher resolution initially, at 1920 * 1080?

What are you recording from exactly?

For instance the FaceTime camera on most Macs is limited to 720p video. there's no way to get higher quality video from it. That is a hardware limitation. It's a 720p quality camera. Newer Macs have a 1080p camera.

iMovie would not be able to get 1080p video from a 720p video camera. If you want higher quality video, you would need a higher quality camera.

If you make screen recording instead, it will record at the Mac's full screen resolution and can export to a maximum of that resolution.

5 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Jun 13, 2022 10:29 AM in response to oneshot2shots

oneshot2shots wrote:

Thanks Phil.

I understand that I cannot get more pixels from a lower source, as that would be magical. 

My main question is why QT cannot record at a higher resolution initially, at 1920 * 1080?