Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Can I have 2 startup disks on the same Mac

Due to the internal Fusion Drive on my iMac recently becoming sluggish, I preformed a clean macOS Monterey install (from a bootable drive), in the hope the problem would be solved. Running EtreCheck Pro after the install revealed a slight improvement on the computer performance, but the diagnosis still revealed "poor HD performance", impairing the computer's performance while I'm recording (I'm a professional session musician). I decided then to make an external 1TB SSD drive my start up disk.

I assume I'll have to install the OS one that SSD drive as well, but can I still keep the OS installed in my internal sluggish Fusion Drive? Will my Apple ID profile recognize this as a "new computer"?

Can anybody please shed some light on the issue?

Thanks in advance!

Bruno.

iMac 27″, macOS 12.5

Posted on Aug 29, 2022 7:31 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Aug 29, 2022 7:46 AM

You can have as many bootable disks as you want (and have storage for), and can select and boot from any connected, though only one startup device can be the default.

Usual reason for these trouble reports is a split Fusion, or write-heavy activities, or a failing HDD. A failing SSD is also possible, though less common.

Fusion operates at HDD speeds once the SSD cache is overwhelmed.

The size of the SSD varies, and some of the Fusion SSD configurations were tiny.

Run Diagnostics or DriveDx and check the HDD status: Use Apple Diagnostics to test your Mac - Apple Support

To reconstitute: How to fix a split Fusion Drive - Apple Support

To answer your questions, yes, you can have multiple bootable devices and any that are bootable can be set up to boot.

To create a bootable macOS device, you do need to for at it as GUID GPT partitioning and (for any recent macOS) APFS file system, and then load macOS.