Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Not able to AirPlay Fitness+ workouts to Apple TV gen 2 with iOS 16.0

Two weeks ago I finally started using Fitness+. I was able to AirPlay the workouts from my iPhone 13 Pro to my Apple TV gen 2. In my configuration, I am simply using the Apple TV to AirPlay from the iPhone. I've been doing this with my home workouts for a few years now.

Last Friday I updated my software on both my iPhone (to iOS16) and my Apple Watch series 7 (to watchOS 9.0). Yesterday, I had no issues when I used AirPlay to get my normal workouts on my Apple TV, however when I tried to AirPlay any of the Fitness+ workouts, I got an Error message. Strangely enough, I was able to AirPlay the previews of the workouts to my Apple TV, but not the workouts themselves.

I've tried restarting my phone, closing the Fitness+ app, and restarting the Apple TV. This somehow has to be related to the software update since I had no issues before I updated everything. Anyone have any suggestions of what I can do at this point?

iPhone 13 Pro

Posted on Sep 20, 2022 7:03 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Sep 20, 2022 11:30 AM

It worked just fine before I updated the software to iOS16.

Okay, lucky you past year, I guess. It is different from the documentation though, which says AirPlay 2 is required, which the Apple TV (2nd generation) does not support.

About iOS 14 updates (→iOS 14.5 Fitness+) - Apple Support

I can still AirPlay any other chosen video from my iPhone to my Apple TV.

Apple TV+, Disney+, and HBO Max are examples that specifically exclude the 2nd generation for AirPlay support.

3 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Sep 20, 2022 11:30 AM in response to mkemm