Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Files under /usr/bin not able to delete

It seems files present under /usr/bin is not easy to delete even when I get sudo privileges.

----

sudo rm /usr/bin/javac 

override rwxr-xr-x root/wheel restricted,compressed for /usr/bin/javac? yes

rm: /usr/bin/javac: Operation not permitted

-----

Can somebody suggest any solution? I am a software developer and keep updating my machine with new and old versions of development tools.

MacBook Air, macOS 12.6

Posted on Sep 30, 2022 12:54 PM

Similar questions

11 replies

Sep 30, 2022 3:13 PM in response to veekeay

As a Java developer. you should be familiar with the hoops for running multiple versions of Java on your system. The way to do this has been well known for year (and it applies to all OSes, not just MacOS).

The short version is that you need to install other Java versions in parallel (e.g. in /usr/local/bin, or anywhere else you prefer), then either invoke the specific version of Java you want at run time (by providing the full path of the javac binary you want to use), or set your $JAVA_HOME environment variable to provide a hint.

Repeatedly removing and reinstalling Java versions on a regular basis is not something that most people are prepared to do.

Sep 30, 2022 3:30 PM in response to veekeay

> Please suggest way to delete the file and I don't like apple controlling my Mac book so tightly

Short version: wipe your drive and install some other OS.

Apple have long marched down a part of locking down parts of the OS to prevent unauthorized change to parts of the file system.

In 99% of cases nobody notices