Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Service cleaning for my mac is very expensive, but should i still get it?

I have been using my Macbook Air for two years with heavy usage every day. I am planning on it getting service cleaned (internal fans and fins getting dusted out, and thermal paste replacement)

But the problem is, it is pretty expensive in my area; 42 dollars in an AASP known as iStore.

It is pretty expensive in my opinion, I know this price is what it is because of a few factors:

Expensive device = Expensive service/maintenance

Legitimate Apple Authorized service provider = expensive service

But this is only regular maintenance. And in my opinion, the price is pretty expensive. Is it worth it?

I'm planning on getting it service cleaned by December because I'm currently saving up for it.

Is the price reasonable and worth it? Is it risk free?

MacBook Air 13″, macOS 10.13

Posted on Oct 7, 2022 6:38 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Oct 7, 2022 9:31 AM

The processor has an internal sensor. When on-chip temperatures approach 100 degrees C, it will do an uncontrolled emergency power-off to preclude heat damage.

As long as it is operating under that limit, no routine maintenance is required.

Apple does not require the items you describe for "routine maintenance". Your Mac is designed for trouble-free operation, so that you can do your important work without having to keep fiddling with the computer.

If instead, the internal condition of your computer is causing you anguish, consuming your attention, and causing you to worry, then then no amount of money is too much to pay for peace-of-mind.

9 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Oct 7, 2022 9:31 AM in response to Cyflor-N-Ac

The processor has an internal sensor. When on-chip temperatures approach 100 degrees C, it will do an uncontrolled emergency power-off to preclude heat damage.