Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

What does this mean on mac apps?

A few days ago, i installed the microsoft 365 apps to replace the Numbers, Keynote, and pages. I signed in using my school account and tried to open OneNote for the first time but it just stood still and a question mark is displayed on the app icon and it will not open or do anything. I am going to assume this is already answered, but i am very new to mac and this is the first time installing the apps. Is there any solution?

Thanks, moronX

MacBook Pro 13″, macOS 12.4

Posted on Oct 7, 2022 2:13 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Oct 7, 2022 3:47 PM

Where was the App icon with a Question mark?

If in the Dock (similar to Taskbar), that means it doesn't know where the app is located.

Open your Applications folder and look for OneNote. In Finder, use the cmd-shift-A shortcut to open the Applications folder.

Does OneNote (probably Microsoft OneNote) show up there?

If you can open the app from there (double-click), hold down the command key and drag the question mark out of the Dock until you see Remove appear....drop it.

Ctrl+click on the OneNote icon in the Dock and choose Keep in Dock from the Options submenu.

3 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Oct 7, 2022 3:47 PM in response to MoronX

Where was the App icon with a Question mark?

If in the Dock (similar to Taskbar), that means it doesn't know where the app is located.

Open your Applications folder and look for OneNote. In Finder, use the cmd-shift-A shortcut to open the Applications folder.

Does OneNote (probably Microsoft OneNote) show up there?