Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Large annoying blocks of tiny text pop up when I move my pointer over a graphic in mac mail.

How do i prevent large blocks of text from appearing when I move my pointer over a graphic in mac mail? Appears to be a complete url but really gets in the way. I'm a novice Mac user.

MacBook Air 13″, macOS 12.6

Posted on Oct 29, 2022 7:50 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Oct 29, 2022 11:36 AM

dogwalkman wrote:

Sorry, got carried away when this gigantic text box appeared. If there is really no way to prevent these I will not click on the spot where they pop up. I'm new with Mac and on this forum so haven't really gotten the hang of it yet.

This hover is to allow you to see if the link goes where you would want it to go.

A whole lot of the scams work by sending you to unexpected places.

An “Apple login webpage” at Sketchy.Example.Com and not at the expected Apple.com, for instance.

Here are a few examples of the many scams:

Recognize and avoid phishing messages, phony support calls, and other scams - Apple Support

The subscribed mail messages you’re showing and the rest are “merely” about tracking your online activities, sometimes to provide you with services, but mostly to track and monitor and to use that to advertise and sell you (and the rest of us) more stuff based on what you (we) are viewing. Or occasionally, to try to scam you (us).

11 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Oct 29, 2022 11:36 AM in response to dogwalkman

dogwalkman wrote:

Sorry, got carried away when this gigantic text box appeared. If there is really no way to prevent these I will not click on the spot where they pop up. I'm new with Mac and on this forum so haven't really gotten the hang of it yet.

This hover is to allow you to see if the link goes where you would want it to go.

A whole lot of the scams work by sending you to unexpected places.