Apple’s Worldwide Developers Conference to kick off June 10 at 10 a.m. PDT with Keynote address

The Keynote will be available to stream on apple.com, the Apple Developer app, the Apple TV app, and the Apple YouTube channel. On-demand playback will be available after the conclusion of the stream.

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

How to set up personal hotspot as a shortcut on my iPhone?

Why can’t we have personal hotspot as a shortcut? Why do we have to long press on the control panel to get to it? It shouldn’t take 3 steps to turn on hotspot.

[Re-Titled by Moderator]

iPad mini 6, iPadOS 15

Posted on Dec 13, 2022 6:23 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Dec 15, 2022 1:22 PM

Thank you. That is somewhat helpful. The problem is the shortcut also opens the settings menu and leaves you there so you have to go back to wherever you were. I'm no expert so maybe I could make going back to home part of the shortcut. Another problem is this only works to turn the hotspot on and not off.

And ultimately, the end user (myself) shouldn't have to work this hard to get a button to turn the hotspot off and on. That's just ridiculous in today's hotspot/tethering/everybody needs to be connected world we live in.

8 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Dec 15, 2022 1:22 PM in response to Stephen Spark

Thank you. That is somewhat helpful. The problem is the shortcut also opens the settings menu and leaves you there so you have to go back to wherever you were. I'm no expert so maybe I could make going back to home part of the shortcut. Another problem is this only works to turn the hotspot on and not off.

And ultimately, the end user (myself) shouldn't have to work this hard to get a button to turn the hotspot off and on. That's just ridiculous in today's hotspot/tethering/everybody needs to be connected world we live in.

Dec 16, 2022 10:25 AM in response to LotusPilot