Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Keep Gmail Contacts? Make it default contacts?

I'm new to iPhone. Used Gmail and Gmail Contacts exclusively on an Android device. Should I continue to use Gmail Contacts? or start over with iCloud Contacts?

And if I should move to iCloud Contacts, should I disable/delete Gmail Contacts?

iPad

Posted on Jan 22, 2023 12:57 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jan 22, 2023 1:02 PM

You ask a good question!

In my opinion, the answer depends on what other computing devices you plan to use, if any.

If, for example, you have a Windows PC and plan to keep using Windows, then gmail contacts is likely the way to go, as it will be easy to share them with your PC.

If, on the other hand, other Apple devices such as iPad or Mac are in your future, then iCloud is the way to go. Sharing these contacts with your other Apple devices is both trivial, and changes made on one device are instantly reflected on all your Apple devices.

7 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Jan 22, 2023 1:02 PM in response to cbr79

You ask a good question!

In my opinion, the answer depends on what other computing devices you plan to use, if any.

If, for example, you have a Windows PC and plan to keep using Windows, then gmail contacts is likely the way to go, as it will be easy to share them with your PC.

If, on the other hand, other Apple devices such as iPad or Mac are in your future, then iCloud is the way to go. Sharing these contacts with your other Apple devices is both trivial, and changes made on one device are instantly reflected on all your Apple devices.

Jan 22, 2023 3:17 PM in response to cbr79

cbr79 wrote:

Do you think I should delete my Gmail contacts and disable GC on my iPhone?