Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

what is the best way to organize and label clips?

I am new to imovie and have figured out how to import my 2 hr video into the project media area and then down into the timeline, and have figured out how to separate clips there. But I need to divide up the longer video into numerous smaller clips that I need to label so I know what they are and then can decide which segments to use. What is the best way to do that?

How do I label a clip?

and then where can I put it to store it safely while I decide which clips work in the edit?

thank you!

Katarina

MacBook Pro 13″, macOS 13.1

Posted on Jan 22, 2023 6:19 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jan 24, 2023 9:28 AM

Can I grab a section on the timeline and copy it and put it in its own event? or is there a better way to do it?

No. You cannot copy a full clip or a segment of a clip from the timeline into an event or into the Project Media browser. You can drag a full, unedited clip, from the Project Media browser view into an Event or into the timeline. You can drag a full, unedited, clip from an Event into the Project Media or into the timeline. Events can only hold unedited clips, not segments or clips with edits, so if you want to save an edited clip or a clip segment from the timeline you need to copy and paste it into a newly created project that will act as a sort of library or archive for unedited clips that you may want to put into it. The edits will carry over.