Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Bootable Installer for iMac 2012

I have an old iMac (2012) that was completely wiped. When turned on it only shows a white screen with a "🚫". After entering internet recovery mode I was unable to reinstall MacOS as I am getting an error that says my system does not support this version of OS. After some researching on how to get around this error, as I am very new to this level of administration and using Terminal, I am trying to create a bootable installer on a USB drive. I am trying to use a 2021 Mac book Pro to do this, running Ventura. I have treid with Sierra, El Capitain, and Yosemite, but cannot seem to get the installer drive to open, so that i can access the installer application (in order to run the command in terminal provided by apple, example ;;; sudo /Applications/Install\ OS\ X\ El\ Capitan.app/Contents/Resources/createinstallmedia --volume /Volumes/MyVolume --applicationpath /Applications/Install\ OS\ X\ El\ Capitan.app)

I have tried manually opening the pkg. with terminal and creating a file for it in applications, but to no avail. Not entirely sure how to progress so i can reinstall macOS and get this computer working. Any ideas..

Posted on Jan 27, 2023 3:02 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jan 28, 2023 10:17 AM

Thanks for the additional information. A 2012 iMac would have shipped with OS X 10.8.x "Mountain Lion", and if its startup disk had been completely erased that is what it should offer to reinstall.

Boot Recovery using the following key chord, as described in Use macOS Recovery on an Intel-based Mac - Apple Support:

• Option-Shift-Command-R: Start up from macOS Recovery over the internet. Use this key combination to reinstall the version of macOS that came with your Mac or the closest version that’s still available.