what does it mean when you turn on your personal hot spot, when it says Allow others to Join
what does it mean when you turn on your personal hot spot, when it says Allow others to Join
The Apple Support Community will permanently close on November 20, 2026. Starting today, the site will no longer accept new posts and is available in a read-only state.
You can continue to find trusted guidance and support on the official Apple Support site.
We want to thank the community members who have contributed their time and expertise to help others with their Apple products.
The Apple Support Community will permanently close on November 20, 2026. Starting today, the site will no longer accept new posts and is available in a read-only state.
You can continue to find trusted guidance and support on the official Apple Support site.
We want to thank the community members who have contributed their time and expertise to help others with their Apple products.
what does it mean when you turn on your personal hot spot, when it says Allow others to Join
It means exactly that. It turns on the feature to permit others to attempt to connect to your personal hotspot.
Personal Hotspot can be used with your own devices, or can be shared with other people's devices.
It also explains it it in gray text a bit further down:
They will still need the password set up underneath the switch to connect however.
It means exactly that. It turns on the feature to permit others to attempt to connect to your personal hotspot.
Personal Hotspot can be used with your own devices, or can be shared with other people's devices.
It also explains it it in gray text a bit further down:
They will still need the password set up underneath the switch to connect however.
This message means that other people can see your Hot Spot and join it if they have the password.
what does it mean when you turn on your personal hot spot, when it says Allow others to Join