Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

MacBook Pro 2016 model

I have a Mac book pro A1708 which has developed horizontal black lines on the display making it impossible to see

The Apple assistance says it does not ‘qualify’ for the recall program because the lines are not vertical!

I’m hearing of this particular defect more and more and would like to know why it is not covered by the recall quality program

MacBook Pro 13″, macOS 10.14

Posted on Mar 24, 2023 11:23 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Mar 24, 2023 5:25 PM

First, technically it is not a "recall" program, but a free repair program. The difference is a "recall" is for a safety issue and is extremely rare for Apple (only one for a 2015 MBPro battery safety issue). Sorry, since I work in the tech field this is a very important designation.

Second, the free repair programs (or even recall programs) only apply to a certain range of computer serial numbers determine by Apple from information they receive from the assembly line and/or from component suppliers. Apple knows exactly when an assembly line manufacturing issue occurred, or when a known defective component was installed.

As for the free Display repair program for the MBPros....it was only valid for the MBPro 13" 2016 model. The "A1708" designation is too broad as it covers both the 2016 & 2017 MBPro 13" non-touchbar models.

Even for valid models, the program only covers very specific symptoms which only affected the backlight. So having lines on the display would not qualify even if your laptop is potentially covered by the free repair program. Here is the Apple article regarding the free Display repair program (notice the title of the article):

13-inch MacBook Pro Display Backlight Service Program - Apple Support

The free repair program also is only valid for up to five years after purchase (or three years since Apple started to offer the free repair program).