You can make a difference in the Apple Support Community!

When you sign up with your Apple Account, you can provide valuable feedback to other community members by upvoting helpful replies and User Tips.

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Need DOWNGRADE firmware for HP OfficeJet Pro 8715

Aloha! I'm a retired graphic designer and don't need to replace my ink cartridges very often. Case in point -- I bought replacement cartridges in 2018 and just now replaced the CMY. I get an error message stating, "This is an older generation cartridge that does not work in your printer."

Apparently one of the HP firmware updates is causing this error. I've found a firmware downgrade but it's Windows. I cannot find one for Mac OS. I'm running 13.xx Ventura.

I've also posted in the HP community but all the answers are for Windows.

TYIA for your help!

Posted on May 19, 2023 4:55 PM

Question marked as Top-ranking reply

Posted on May 20, 2023 9:25 PM

And how is it done for Windows? An HP Windows app?

Years ago it used to be possible to manually push the firmware update file (not an app executable) to the printer through several means, but I have no idea if any of these methods will work with this printer. Those methods involved accessing the printer's web interface, using ftp, or even "printing" the firmware file to the printer. Does the printer allow for placing the firmware onto a USB stick and using the printer's LCD menu interface to install the firmware from the USB stick? When I say "firmware file", I mean a special file containing only the firmware image itself.....not any type of executable file or archive file....usually the firmware files are in a binary format with a file extension of .bin or possibly .fw, etc.

I tried a quick search, but don't see any references to these methods in regards to this model printer. Seems HP is relying on their own proprietary app to manage the printer.