Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Time Machine Deleting old backups after full restore

So I'm wondering if anyone else came up with this issue:
My computer crashed and so I restored my MacBook from Time machine. I've never done this before, but figured it would put everything back to how it was.

It did on my hard drive, but my Time machine external drive's backups all got wiped! I had about 1.5 years of backups and they are all gone!

I realize that hopefully the backup that I restored to should have everything I need, but I never thought to backup my backup drive before using it to restore.

Seems like a really dumb glitch in the software.

Apple Macbook - Unibody, Mac OS X (10.6.4), Also Windows 7 32bit installed via bootcamp

Posted on Aug 19, 2010 9:07 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Aug 19, 2010 4:27 PM

SnakeDog wrote:
. . .
It did on my hard drive, but my Time machine external drive's backups all got wiped! I had about 1.5 years of backups and they are all gone!

Doubtful. There's at least one left; Time Machine will never delete your only remaining backup.

As noted at the bottom of #14 of Time Machine - Frequently Asked Questions (or use the link in *User Tips* at the top of this forum), everything you restored is considered as changed, so must be backed-up again: http://support.apple.com/kb/TS1338

That, of course, requires a lot of space (the amount of data on the drive plus 20% for workspace).

See #A1 in Time Machine - Troubleshooting (or use the link in *User Tips* at the top of this forum). Navigate in the widget to the backup in question, and it will document what happened in detail.
6 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Aug 19, 2010 4:27 PM in response to SnakeDog

SnakeDog wrote:
. . .

Doubtful. There's at least one left; Time Machine will never delete your only remaining backup.