Newsroom Update

New features come to Apple services this fall. Learn more >

Sharing albums without editing, delete etc. options

Just changed from Windows to Apple (Mac mini) and therefore also from OneDrive to iCloud. I'm an amateur photographer and shared a lot of albums with family and friends in OneDrive, where I had the possibility to choose to what extend could be done with the photo's. (Only look, for a limited period of time, edit, download.)

I would like to share my albums again through iCloud but this seems only possible in a way that family and friends have the option to add, edit or even delete photos. And I absolutely don't want that.

Am I missing certain configuration options or is this just how Apple designed it?

Posted on Jul 26, 2023 5:00 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jul 26, 2023 10:54 AM

Your Shred Albums can be setup so those invited can't delete, add or comment on the photos in the album. Just don't check the checkbox allowing invitees to comment or add Photos.

You can either use a public website (the URL is so obscure that it's unlikely anyone could stumble upon it) or have a private and enter the email addresses of those you want to invite. As a public website you'd have to copy the URL and email it to those you want to invite.

Try it with a couple of test photos and what you need to do to protect them as you'd like.

Similar questions

3 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Jul 26, 2023 10:54 AM in response to MilusJunod

Your Shred Albums can be setup so those invited can't delete, add or comment on the photos in the album. Just don't check the checkbox allowing invitees to comment or add Photos.

You can either use a public website (the URL is so obscure that it's unlikely anyone could stumble upon it) or have a private and enter the email addresses of those you want to invite. As a public website you'd have to copy the URL and email it to those you want to invite.