iPhone Sync in Finder does not show Albums from Photos

I'm new to using Ventura, and haven't used the Finder synch (my prior Mac I still used iTunes).

I've been migrating to Photos and I want to synch my iPhone and select albums from Photos on my Mac.

When I go to the section for Photos, I select "Sync photos to your device from: Photos". I select, "Selected albums". I see nothing under Albums below to allow me to select the albums to sync.

See attached.

FYI, I have looked up other threads on this topic. I have disabled iCould Photo sync.

Mac Studio (2023)

Posted on Jul 30, 2023 6:39 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jul 31, 2023 1:20 AM

Have you set that Photos library as "System Photos library" in Photos settings?

p.s. Just the other day I had trouble syncing selected Photos library albums to iPad via USB with that Finder setup. I tried multiple times but no matter what hundreds of files failed to sync. Eventually I trashed the 55 GB iPod Photo Cache folder inside the library and let Photos create a new, and after that all images and movies synced OK.

Similar questions

10 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Jul 31, 2023 1:20 AM in response to Brent D.

Have you set that Photos library as "System Photos library" in Photos settings?

p.s. Just the other day I had trouble syncing selected Photos library albums to iPad via USB with that Finder setup. I tried multiple times but no matter what hundreds of files failed to sync. Eventually I trashed the 55 GB iPod Photo Cache folder inside the library and let Photos create a new, and after that all images and movies synced OK.

Aug 5, 2023 12:30 AM in response to Brent D.

I am glad you could solve it. Thank you for posting all the steps.