Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Passcode not working after upgrading to iOS 17

My 4 digit passcode is not working after upgrading to iOS 17 on my iPhone 14 pro max. I have been using this passcode for over 4 months but it stopped working after the upgrade.

Is there an option i can use to reset the passcode without having to erase data on my iPhone.

iPhone 14 Pro Max

Posted on Sep 20, 2023 4:47 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Nov 27, 2023 3:11 PM

Hi there team,

Since the upgrade my passcode has also stopped working (have used the same passcode for a decade, so no i have not changed it, and no nobody else has access to the phone). I need a fix that doesn't involve wiping the device please.

9 replies

Jan 23, 2024 7:45 PM in response to nicodemus161

Hi,

Typically, an iOS upgrade should not cause the device passcode to become invalid. You can try the following steps to fix the problem:

Re-enter the passcode: Make sure you have entered the passcode correctly. It is possible that the passcode was rejected due to a typing error.

Restart your device: Try restarting your iPhone, sometimes this can solve some temporary problems.

Reset Passcode: iOS 17 offers the option to reset your passcode on-screen without wiping your iPhone, but this only works for 72 hours after changing your passcode. Assuming your passcode was accidentally changed, you can enter your previous passcode to reset a new one within the expiration date, and then use the new passcode to sign in to unlock your device.

This may be an iOS 17 bug, if your device does not currently have the latest iOS version installed, try upgrading to the latest version to see if this error is fixed.