Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Newsroom Update

Final Cut Pro transforms video creation with Live Multicam on iPad and new AI features on Mac. Learn more >

Project suddenly empty/timeline gone!

I'm pretty new to FCPX. I've been editing a video for a few days, the project runs about 5 minutes. I went into another project to copy-paste some titles and bring them back into the new/current project... and the timeline is blank. I'm suspecting that I did something outside of the actual "project" slate up top. Screen shot of what I'm seeing is attached below. This was previously a full timeline with titles, transitions, lots of edits. If it helps, something similar happened with my last project: I had synchronized a handful of clips and edited with those on the timeline, but for some reason the only way o get the timeline back in that project was to double click on the "Sync'd clips" clip in the Library.

I don't have any sync'd clips in this project, so I tried double clicking on each clip in case it "contained" the timeline - but no luck.

I also tried loading the backups from the every-15-mins backup folder, and none of them contained my timeline.

I've tried Window>Show in Window and timeline is checked.

I never deleted anything from the timeline so I feel like it has to be there somewhere, I'm just not finding it. I've seen similar posts on other forums but without a solution.

To extra clarify, when I go into the folder the the date on it in the left pane, clips are definitely there - but the timeline is just... gone.

If anyone knows the trick to getting it back... can you help? I don't want to lose 3 days of work. Ugh.

Kirby

Posted on Oct 7, 2023 4:25 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Oct 7, 2023 5:03 PM