You can make a difference in the Apple Support Community!

When you sign up with your Apple ID, you can provide valuable feedback to other community members by upvoting helpful replies and User Tips.

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Force Mac SMB server to use SMB version 3.1.1

I have a Mac mini acting as a SMB server for both Mac and Windows 11 clients. smbutil shows that the connections to the server are using smb version 3.0.2. There is a Linux server on the network that is also a smb server. Connections to this server report as version 3.1.1. I would like connections to the Mac smb server to also use version 3.1.1. However, I cannot find any directions on how to do it.

Mac mini (2018)

Posted on Oct 11, 2023 5:10 PM

8 replies

Jun 17, 2024 5:33 AM in response to Ben Schmidt

I am NOT an expert!!!! But, from what I've been reading, the values in the Protocol version map (and that may be seen in some places as `ProtocolVersionMap` or `protocol_vers_map` depending where you're looking/reading) is NOT a 1 for 1 value. At least for MacOS.

Instead it is a map. Done by each "bit" in the number being a flag, and for programmers, more commonly known as a bitmask.

Bit 1 is to enable/disable V1

Bit 2 is to enable/disable V2

Bit 3 is to enable/disable V3

And so, the values you have are

0 = In theory, support no version.

1 = Support ONLY V1

2 = Support ONLY V2

3 = Support V1 AND V2

4 = Support ONLY V3

5 = Support V1 AND V3

6 = Support V2 AND V3

7 = Support V1, V2, AND V3

That's the theory!

If you run the following ...

$ sudo scutil --prefs com.apple.smb.server.plist
Password:
> get /
> d.show
<dictionary> {
  DOSCodePage : 437
  LocalKerberosRealm : LKDC:SHA1.192345B0DB15F0814DDDA2A2AB4D3DE5983D84D8
  NetBIOSName : ArrayQueue-MBP
  ProtocolVersionMap : 255
  ServerDescription : ArrayQueue MPB
  SigningRequired : false
  protocolVersionMap : 2
}
>  quit