Replace HDD with SSD - Mac 2011 - is it worth it? Possible?

Hi

I have been using my Mac since it was made in 2011. It runs Sierra 10.12.6.

It is now getting very slow and prone to crashing. I suspect the hard disk is failing although disk utility doesn't show any errors.

Is it possible to replace the hard drive with an external SSD and boot from that? I think this Mac is a bit too old to do that but can anyone confirm?

If it is possible, any tips on how to do it would be appreciated :)

iMac 21.5″, macOS 10.12

Posted on Oct 11, 2023 11:20 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Oct 12, 2023 11:42 AM

Is it possible to replace the hard drive with an external SSD and boot from that?

Yes but don't do anything unless you still have that iMac's original, grey, System Install DVD. A Time Machine backup is also a prerequisite (obviously).

Similar questions

7 replies

Oct 12, 2023 2:39 AM in response to stevetheadi

well that model was prone to have the ati gpu die, it's how mine went some years ago

so if it was me then I would not spend too much money on an ssd only for it to die soon after

also apple has long since stopped providing with security updates for the older macOS versions that the model support

and many apps in app store these days will not work on such an old macOS version

Oct 12, 2023 12:51 PM in response to stevetheadi

stevetheadi wrote:

Is it possible to replace the hard drive with an external SSD and boot from that? I think this Mac is a bit too old to do that but can anyone confirm?

Yes, it is possible to boot from an external SSD. I booted a Late 2009 iMac from an external SSD for a long time.