New MacBook Air compare to MacBook Pro

2 questions:

My old iMac 27” from late 2013 it’s barely functional. Can’t even upgrade the OS anymore. It’s on Catalina 10.15.7. 8GB. Can I upgrade the Ram on it to get it operational? Or just buy a new product?

I am an artist that uses Photoshop & Lightroom. I also back up to the cloud and my ext HD 8 TB.

I’m looking at the MacBook Air 15” 16 Memory GB 512 GB SSD (Latest Model) or should I consider the MacBook Pro 14” or 16” M3 Pro?

iMac 27″, macOS 10.15

Posted on Nov 23, 2023 11:19 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Nov 23, 2023 8:20 PM

artscapes wrote:

Great response and spec info! I know I’ve been behind the curve for awhile and needing to move to a new purchase. I do connect an Epson v600 scanner. It was recommended that “You'll need a USB A to USB C adaptor in order to connect it to your MacBook. This one is available from Apple: Apple USB A to USB C adaptor by this community”.

There are lots of ways to plug USB-A devices into USB-C ports:

• With the aid of the Apple adapter, or a similar AmazonBasics one
  • Using small in-line plug adapters. These often sell in packs of 2 – 4 for $10, but you need to check speeds on these, as some only support USB 2.0 speed
  • Using USB-A hubs that plug into USB-C ports and offer four or more USB-A ports
  • Using USB-C and Thunderbolt docks that may feature USB-A ports alongside other things

A separate question would be whether your scanner is compatible with current versions of macOS. Looking on Epson's site, it appears they do have scanner drivers and utilities both for Ventura and Sonoma.

https://epson.com/For-Home/Scanners/Photo-Scanners/Epson-Perfection-V600-Photo-Scanner/p/B11B198011

Similar questions

10 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Nov 23, 2023 8:20 PM in response to artscapes

artscapes wrote: