📢 Newsroom Update

The iPhone 16 and iPhone 16 Pro lineups, Apple Watch Series 10, the new black titanium Apple Watch Ultra 2, AirPods 4, and new colors for AirPods Max are now available! Learn more >

You can make a difference in the Apple Support Community!

When you sign up with your Apple ID, you can provide valuable feedback to other community members by upvoting helpful replies and User Tips.

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Old MacBook pro versus New MacBook Air

Hi all,

I am a little bit tech illiterate, but was hoping to find a little help from this forum. I have a mid-2014 MacBook Pro 15". Its been an excellent laptop, but unfortunately since they stopped allowing it to get updates, I am finding myself more and more inconvenienced in its daily operations. It still does everything I ask of it without question (which is granted nothing heavy duty), but I wanted to inquire as to which machine is more powerful - my current macbook pro or a new MacBook Air 15" with the M2.

My hunch is that the MBA is more powerful, but my Pro has 16GB of memory (16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3) and is processor is the 2.2 GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i7. The MBA I was looking at only has 8GB of memory, but I am sure there have been many other advances. Once again, I am not very tech literate, so which machine is more powerful if they went head to head? I would be shocked if the MBA didn't win, but I just have no way of knowing as I have tried to understand these things, but I cannot.

Also, is it worth waiting for the M3 chip or is the M2 going to be fairly similar?

Thanks so much for all of your help!

Posted on Feb 16, 2024 1:47 PM

Question marked as Top-ranking reply

Posted on Feb 16, 2024 2:05 PM