Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Unable to mark up a PDF in Mail on my 4th Gen iPad Pro 12.9

Attached below is a copy of a complaint describing a major flaw in Apple's iOS. The complaint was written nearly 4 years ago and posted to this web page. I am currently experiencing the identical problem. I am a professor at the Berklee College of Music and I use a 4th gen. iPad Pro, 12.9 inch tablet to grade student homework and projects. Homework and projects are sent to me in the form of PDF's via Apple's Mail client. There, I can open them, grade them, and send them back to the student without ever leaving Mail. Very convenient when it works. However, seemingly at random, the program blinks on and off for a split second and when it comes back on, all of my annotations are lost and unrecoverable. It's so frustrating that I've had to resort to printing out hard copy rendering the iPad useless. It's so bad, I'm considering dumping Apple. I am losing hours of work. It's hard to believe that it's been nearly 4 years and Apple has not addressed this issue especially when you consider the fact that Apple has always prided itself as a company who caters to educators.

The blinking on and off phenomenon seems to occur when, as I am writing with the Apple Pencil, the palm of my hand makes contact with the edge of the screen. However, I can't be certain this is the trigger because the blinking phenomenon doesn't occur every time my palm makes contact with the edge of the screen.

CreativeWrit Author Level 1•13points

Disappearing annotations on PDF mark-up