Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Using a iMac as a second screen

PLEASE HELP!!

I am trying to use my iMac late 2013 model to connect to my MacBook Air 2024 as I would like to use the iMac as a second screen. I bought the thunderbolt adapter and cable but when pressing the command + F2 buttons nothing happens. I am not a pro at this at all so any help would be much appreciated. I need to get this sorted out before Monday:(

MacBook Air (M3, 2024)

Posted on Apr 27, 2024 2:23 PM

6 replies

Apr 27, 2024 2:50 PM in response to amaal161

The following older iMac models can be used as an external display when plugged into another older Mac model.

iMac models introduced in 2011, 2012, 2013, and mid 2014

To use any of these iMac models as an external display:

• The iMac used as a display must have macOS High Sierra or earlier installed.
  • The other Mac that you're connecting it to must have been introduced in 2019 or earlier and have macOS Catalina or earlier installed.
  • The cable connecting the two Mac computers must be a Thunderbolt or Thunderbolt 2 cable.

24-inch and 27-inch iMac models introduced in 2009 and 2010

To use any of these iMac models as an external display:

• The iMac used as a display must have macOS High Sierra or earlier installed.
  • The other Mac that you're connecting it to must have been introduced in 2019 or earlier and have macOS Catalina or earlier installed.
  • The cable connecting the two Mac computers must be a Mini DisplayPort cable.

I haven't tried either, but Turn any Mac or iPad into a second display...

https://lunadisplay.com/

Review by NAK005, you may not be happy with it…

Secondary Screen Solution - Apple Community

https://www.duetdisplay.com/

Duet - Remote Desktop, Second Display, Drawing Tablet, and More (duetdisplay.com)