Newsroom Update

New features come to Apple services this fall. Learn more >

Move file in Automator

I'm a noob when it comes to scripting or even automating anything, my apologies in advance. I'm trying to get automator to read the first line in a text file (it's a number) and use that input to find a photo of the same number and move it from one folder into the next. There are about 1500 jpegs in that folder and I need to find that specific one mentioned as a number in the text file.

Mac Studio (2022)

Posted on May 22, 2024 4:25 PM

4 replies

May 23, 2024 8:08 PM in response to VikingOSX

My apologies for posting in 2 forums, I just didn't know which one was more applicable to my request (First Time Here)

I was hoping it was you that would respond, went through a few of you previous post and was very impressed.

I'm currently working on a Automated Video Streaming service for a church so the staff and priest have very little to do other than to speak to god and pray for world peace (lol)

I set up an Automater where the priest will send an email with the text number of the corresponding Jpeg he wants on AIr, The automator then copies the text into the text file labelled daily.text. I have another Automator that runs with startup every morning and clears the contents of the Folder Named Daily where the copied and renamed to daily.jpeg will reside. I originally wanted to do it via text message but couldn't figure it out, so the priest said email is fine.

The Video switcher will only look for the jpeg in named daily.jpeg in the daily folder. I created a macro in the video switcher to do this automated.

1. So the file name of the text will never change It is located in a a drive labelled Media A that also will store the folder of the Assets (All jpegs reside here) as well as the folder named Daily where the copied file ends up.
  2. The text file will only have 1 line with either a number or a number with a the letter b behind it or somelike like 739-740.