Need Help Creating macOS Ventura USB Boot Disk (2024)

I’m in the process of attempting to create a macOS Ventura USB Boot Disk and I need some help. For brevity I created one last year (2023) with no problems but this year (2024) when I followed the exact same steps in “terminal” I received the following error: “/Applications/Install macOS Ventra.app does not appear to be a valid installer application” and after troubleshooting and conducting research I believe that the problem is that I have a partial installer folder “Install macOS Ventura” in “Applications” because that file is 39.6 MB instead of 12GB.  So the solution to my problem should be to remove the current partial installer folder“Install macOS Ventura” in “Applications” and download the current version which is “macOS Ventura, Version 13.6.7” through the “terminal” with “software update” and “fetch full installer” commands.  Because I’ve never done this before I’m hoping that someone could answer the following for clarification: 

What is the correct way to manage the current partial installer folder“Install macOS Ventura” (39.6 MB) in “Applications” on my iMac for this procedure? To be specific should I move it to the “Trash” before downloading  “macOS Ventura, Version 13.6.7” through the “terminal” or should I just leave it there and the “terminal” will update it accordingly?  To the best of my knowledge there can only be one “Install macOS Ventura” installer folder in “Applications” so if someone could clarify what I should do I would greatly appreciate it. Thank you. Respectfully.

iMac 27″ 5K

Posted on Jun 7, 2024 9:54 AM

7 replies

Jun 7, 2024 12:21 PM in response to Thatch Zen

Thatch Zen wrote: