Newsroom Update

New features come to Apple services this fall. Learn more >

How can I turn OFF AI (wild-*** guesses)in Mac Photo searches

I am a professional botanist. I have many thousands of plant photos to which I have assigned the scientific name as the photo title plus the scientific name of the plant family as a keyword. If I want to see what photos I have taken of a particular plant, I have searched by scientific name, and Find immediately found all the photos. A while back Apple introduced an AI photo ID function that supposedly would provide the scientific name of a plant photo. I've tried it some, and occasionally it comes up with the right name for a plant, but much more often it's way off—it's definitely not ready for prime time. Well, Apple apparently just linked this inept AI function with their Photos Search. Today I searched for a particulat plant's scientific name and in addition to the 26 images I was looking for 126 other photos showed up of plants that in some regard resembled the plant I searched for. That's not useful! I don't want AI input on my searches. I cannot find any way of turning it OFF.

MacBook Pro 15″, macOS 14.5

Posted on Jun 14, 2024 5:47 PM

2 replies

Jun 14, 2024 11:41 PM in response to D_J_Carino

Regrettably, there is no way to turn it off. So my first port of call would be here:

Feedback - Photos - Apple

and report the flaws in their system

That said, Photos is a give-away application, not designed for a professional setting in any circumstance. It is designed to be simple to use, which is another way of saying, with fewer choices for the user. It might be worth considering migrating to another app, one with more robust choices and more fine control for the User.

Jun 15, 2024 7:32 AM in response to D_J_Carino