Why won't my 2015 MacBook Air power up even after charging?

I've just been given a 2015 mac book air that's been unused for around 9 months. I've tried to charge it up but nothing seems to power up. The mag charger has a small green LED that flashes on and off repeatedly around every 1 seconds or so. I've left the book on charge for a couple of hours and will not power up at all. As I'm new to these devices, has anybody any ideas or am I missing a simple point? Many thanks in advance for any help.

[Re-Titled by Moderator]

Windows, Windows 10

Posted on Jun 16, 2024 4:35 AM

4 replies

Jun 18, 2024 6:30 PM in response to Stu5544

Good job, glad you got it powered on.

As for the OS install, it is hard to say. I've had some installs take a long time and once in a while one will get stuck. A lot of it depends on the quality & speed of your network & local Internet, plus sometimes Apple's servers can be slow if you are still on the downloading phase of the install. Unfortunately there is no easy way to tell if it is still slowly moving or whether it has completely stalled out. If you wait 2 - 3 hours, then I would force a restart and see if it will boot to the internal SSD. If the installer got stuck at the reboot phase, then this may allow it to finish. If the installer already rebooted and got stuck during phase 2, then maybe it will finish, or it may indicate a hardware issue or possibly a file system issue depending whether you erased the drive or reinstalled over top of itself.

Normally I would recommend first creating a bootable macOS USB installer to have on hand just so you have a second option, but if you did not create one previously, then you will need access to another Mac which is compatible with an OS this 2015 laptop supports (10.11 to 12.x) although the other Mac can currently be running any version of macOS.

• For macOS 12.x you generally need a Mac from 2015 to 2021
  • For macOS 10.15 you generally need a Mac from 2012 to 2019